

Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council

General Purposes and Arbitration Committee

18 March 2013

Revision of Scheme for the Enrolment of Honorary Aldermen and Honorary Alderwomen Nominations to the Position of Honorary Alderman and Honorary Alderwoman

1. Summary Statement

- 1.1 In order to recognise eminent or notable service rendered to the Borough by former councillors, in 1997 the Council introduced a scheme for the enrolment of Honorary Aldermen of the Borough. This scheme was amended in 2008 to reduce the required number of years' service to 12.
- 1.2 The Local Government Act 1972 gave authority to the Council to confer the honour to elected members who had given eminent service to the Borough. Local Authorities define the operation of the scheme within their Council areas.
- 1.3 Section 29 of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 has amended Section 249 of the Local Government Act to the effect that any reference to Honorary Alderman/men and Honorary Freeman/men should be followed by the insertion of "Honorary Alderwoman/women" and "Honorary Freewoman/women", as appropriate.
- 1.4 The scheme of enrolment for Honorary Aldermen and Honorary Alderwomen indicating the necessary changes is attached as Appendix 1.
- 1.5 The Committee is also requested to consider an application by the Leader, Councillor Cooper, to nominate the following persons to the office of Honorary Alderman or Alderwoman:-

Mr D Hinton Mrs P Hinton Mr M Prestidge Mrs S L Smith

- 1.6 Details of the nominees' record of public service are set out in the Background Details to this report. In accordance with the scheme of enrolment Mr and Mrs Hinton, Mr Prestidge and Mrs Smith have indicated their willingness to accept nomination for enrolment as an Honorary Alderman and Alderwoman respectively.
- 1.7 If the Committee is minded to support the nomination, the Committee's recommendation will be submitted for the consideration of the Council at an extraordinary meeting on 16 April 2013.

Further details are attached for your information

2. Recommendations:-

- 2.1 That the Committee consider recommending the Council to note the amendments to the allocation of honorary titles as required by the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 to approve the proposed amendments to the scheme for the enrolment of Honorary Aldermen and Honorary Alderwomen;
- 2.2 That Members consider recommending the Council to confer the title of:-
 - (a) Honorary Alderman on Mr David Hinton and Mr Martin Prestidge;
 - (b) Honorary Alderwoman on Mrs Pauline Hinton and Mrs Sadie Smith.

Neeraj Sharma
Director – Legal and Governance Services

Contact Officer
Rosemary Jones
Democratic Services Unit
0121 569 3896

Revision of Scheme for the Enrolment of Honorary Aldermen and Honorary Alderwomen Nominations to the Position of Honorary Alderman and Honorary Alderwoman

3. Strategic Resource Implications

- 3.1 Local Authorities are empowered to incur reasonable expenditure on the provision of an address or casket on the conferment of the title of Honorary Alderman or Honorary Alderwoman.
- 3.2 It is the practice of this Authority to present a Badge of Office and a commemorative scroll to its Aldermen and Alderwomen, the cost of which is met from the civic ceremonial budget.

4. Legal and Statutory Implications

4.1 The authority to confer the title of Honorary Alderman and the power to incur expenditure is contained within Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, as now amended by Section 29 of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

5. Implications for the Council's Scorecard Priorities

5.1 Sandwell is celebrated in the Scorecard as 'a great place with great people and great prospects for the future'. Nominations of honorary aldermen and honorary alderwomen are an endorsement of the achievements of local people.

6. **Background Details**

Mr D Hinton

6.1 Mr Hinton represented the Tividale ward for 21 years until 2011. He was the Council's lead member on the West Midlands Fire & Rescue Authority for nine years and was Chair of that Authority from 2001 to 2007 and for the municipal year 2010/2011.

Mrs P Hinton

6.2 Mrs Hinton represented the Langley ward for 24 years, from 1984 – 1992 and 1996 to 2012. She held the following Cabinet Member posts:-

2001-2004 - Corporate Services 2004-2007 - Performance and Equality 2007-2010 - Improvement and Equality

She was Deputy Leader of the Council between 2004-2009 and served as Mayor of the Borough in 2010/2011.

Mr M Prestidge

6.3 Mr Prestidge represented the Rounds Green ward of Warley Borough Council from 1971 to 1973; the Authority's Soho ward from 1973 to 1975 and Langley ward for 24 years between 1987 and 2011. He was Chair of the Finance and Audit Scrutiny Panel in 2004/05 and Chair of the Finance and Resources Scrutiny Panel from 2005 to 2011.

He served as Mayor of the Borough in 2003/2004.

Mrs S L Smith

6.4 Mrs Smith represented the Great Barr and Great Barr with Yew Tree wards for 30 years until 2012. During that time she held the positions of Opposition Leader and Deputy Leader for the Liberal Democrat Group.

She served as Mayor of the Borough in 2006/2007.

6.5 All candidates were active within their local communities as ward councillors.

Source Documents

Local Government Act 1972; Sandwell Council Scheme for the Enrolment of Honorary Aldermen; Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.